My Guide to AveSeena

AveSeena, a brand formulated by Dr. Ebru Karpuzoglu (MSc. PhD, Molecular Medicine & Immunology) who has spent 20+ years researching skin and the immune system. Her skincare philosophy is scientifically rooted in the healthful balance between skin, its microbiome and immune system. I also adore the brand name AveSeena, where “Ave” is the word used by Romans as a salutation that means “be well” – representing the energetic positivity for your life and health through new found empowerment- mind, body, and spirit. While “Seena” comes from the Rumi philosophy “of / from the heart where is the center of emotions, well-being and goodwill” – representing the pure and powerful touch of each formula. My association and experience with this brand started in 2017, and since they’ve come a long way with products and formulations. Lets explore each of them:

Honeyactive Beauty Mask, the OG from AveSeena for me since 2017. I did a post that year detailing the

comparison with The Honey Mud. Fast forward to 2021, with some changes to the formulation (change in some oils, extracts and preservative system), I can still gleefully report it is still stellar and performs like a champ! Most distinct change I noticed, was in its texture and consistency.
However the heart of formulation still consists of enzyme rich Honey, purifying clays, moisturising and healing plant oils and botanical extracts.
2017 texture and consistency I documented was: Dense, firm, very mildly grainy for very very mild exfoliation
2021 texture and consistency experienced: Dense, firm but quite sticky (in pure honey sense and has proven wonderful for Honey Tapping and no graininess at all. I believe this is directly attributed to the quality of honey itself. The scent and overall experience remains just as indulgent.

Decadent, non drying, instantly soothing and calming my skin. I leave it on…well till I’m done with a deep clean of the house, or from 5.30am (me time) to 7.30am just about when chaos wakes and unfolds in the household. I could see this mask working for just about any skin type.

Gentle Gardenia Anti-Pollution Gel Cleanser

A gentle foaming cleanser, that cleanses and removes light makeup of the day. I don’t wear full coverage makeup, and I remove eye and lip with a separate oil or balm cleanser so this works to remove the rest. It does feel refreshing after, no tightness or stretchy-ness after cleanse. Used as morning or evening second cleanse. I don’t use a washcloth with this, unnecessary with a foaming cleanser. Transparent runny gel consistency, add few drops of water to foam. The foam itself isn’t a lot, but feels soft and gentle (not detergent like).
The aroma needs to be talked about, as for cleansing without aroma is a lack lustre cleansing experience for me. The cornerstone aroma of AveSeena is Gardenia, blended with extracts of Rose, Lavender, Geranium, Bee balm, Horsetail, Dandelion, Gotu Kola, Reishi Mushroom, Amethyst extract and Beeswax. Smells wonderful floral enveloped in sweetness. The formulation on paper is fantastic, but performance exceeds what you see on paper. As I recently explained, that foaming cleansers weren’t my jam but with such advanced and elegant formulations it has contributed to my openness (deep down still a balm whore😂)

Supreme Recontour Eye Concentrate
I’m someone who likes the idea of using an eye product and sees value, however I’ve been very inconsistent over the years. I like some products and keep going back to those. Sometimes its packaging or feel on the skin or resulting milia for my eye area. Now all that said, I’m surprised to find myself actively reaching to apply this. It’s weird for me. Perhaps it’s the convenience of pump bottle, perhaps its the super light consistency and absorbs right away, and also zero milia or puffiness each morning. Plus more so, I’ve noticed it has my eye area skin firmer and taut (doesn’t feel flabby so improved elasticity). As for fine lines, too soon to tell, and dark circles well nothing will ever help me. Partly genetic and partly under eye pigmentation so I just invest in a good under eye corrector and concealer.

Consistency and texture, is a gel and absorbs beautifully in skin. One and half pump is what I use around my eyes, lids, between brows and stretch is all the way out to crows feet area.
It does have a mild aroma, however it has not irritated my skin around eyes at all. Formulation wise, its enriched with Niacinamide, N-Acetyl Glucosamine, Peptide, Gotu Kola, Peptides, Vitamin K…this product I believe is the underdog of the collection.

Micro Algae Immun-B3 Serum
The formulation feels supercharged but so replenishing and restoring to the skin barrier. A little goes a long way with this gem.
The consistency and texture is very light gel and absorbs instantly in skin. No residue on skin at all, however skin feels taut (thanks to addition of Pullulan). I use about 2-3 pumps all over face and neck, and apply thin layer all over. It works well with other products from AveSeena line or not. No pilling experienced (my pet peeve).
Some superstars in the formulation include; Brighteners like Niacinamide, Bearberry, Licorice, botanical extracts of Uva Ursi extarct, Pullulan, Micro Algae extract, Reishi Mushroom, Lemon Balm extract, Schizandra berry extract, Ginseng, Fennel, Anise, Horseradish, Willow Bark, Lemon Balm.
Ultimately what this serum has consistently delivered for me, is strong, firm, resilient barrier function. You know I love using exfoliating acids regularly, and paired in a routine, the results are excellent. But also buffering with this has been a life/skin saver in some instances. It has truly protected my barrier and protected from any potential damage. Every morning, I’ve noticed my skin appears consistently healthier, stable and glowing. What more could I ask for🤷🏽‍♀️

To sum up the next product, Ageless Perfection Cream is rich formulation but light in feel, think of chocolate mousse, rich and decadent but light and fluffy. This is it.

On paper this formulation is ultra-concentrated cream and brand claims it immerses skin in soothing hydration to transcend multiple signs of inflammaging and time. Well here’s what I can say, absorbs beautifully and leaves a gorgeous velvet finish on skin. Consistently delivered hydrated, plump skin. I’d say don’t be fooled by its light whippy mousse like consistency. Because it’s nourishment performance is exceptional. The formulation is packed with Niacinamide, Globe Daisy culture extract, Sodium PCA, Snow mushroom, Arnica, Peptide complex, Oregon grape, Diamond Powder, Licorice extract, Arnica with Caesalpinia Spinosa while nourishment with oils like Cocoa, Coconut, Avocado, Jojoba, Squalane, Grape seed, Camellia, Rosehip, Evening Primrose, Borage, Tamanu, Macadamia, & Linseed. Finally sensory treats served with Rose geranium, Chamomile, Calendula, Vitamins C, B5 and E.

Green Caviar Facial Oil Elixir is in the light oil but supercharged oil league. So light (thanks to Squalane and Green Caviar Oil), smells like garden of Gardenia and hello glowing skin!!

This oil discovery is an absolute Gem, which exhilarates me with its consistency, aroma & performance. It ticks all boxes for me. Formulated in a primary base of Squalane and Camellia seed oil, and enriched with peptide Matrixyl 3000™, Blue Tansy, Gardenia, Tiare, Bakuchiol and extracts such as Elder flower, Calendula, Chamomile, Rose, Willow Bark, Red Clover.
With the lightest tinge of mint green from Green Caviar oil, this smells of a garden of white tropical florals (Gardenia and Tiare). Refreshing yet relaxing and you can’t stop inhaling this. I use 4-5-6 drops depending if I use standalone or mixing in moisturizer. I’ve noticed it has helped with minor inflammation I experienced, but also properly moisturized my skin and is an absolutely delight to the senses. Some nights I’ve used it with nothing in my routine except cleanse, acid and oil, skin was happy, healthy & glowing.

Overall, this brand delivers some well articulated and formulated products. The finishes are sophisticated and results speak volumes. For me the eye contour concentrate along with mask and oil are must try’s.

*Brand Gifted

HHW.com

xx

Leave a comment